Connect with us


David Watson wins PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year ahead of Rangers rival



KILMARNOCK’S David Watson has been chosen as PFA Scotland’s Young Player of the Year.

The who’s who of Scottish football gathered at the Hilton Hotel in Glasgow to mark the season’s achievements.


David Watson has been in terrific form for KilmarnockCredit: John Kirkby
The four nominees for the PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year award


The four nominees for the PFA Scotland Young Player of the Year awardCredit: JSH Pix

All the awards are voted for by the players themselves.

And the pros plumped for Watson as their favourite in the Young Player category.

He was up against Lennon Miller of Motherwell, Lyall Cameron of Dundee and Rangers winger Ross McCausland.

But it was the Killie ace’s outstanding performances – and some massive goals including two at Celtic Park – that saw him walk away with the trophy.

Earlier in the night, the Sky Sports goal of the season went to Rabbi Matondo whose stunning strike earned Rangers a 3-3 draw with Celtic in the most recent Old Firm derby.

Former Ibrox boss Graeme Souness was the recipient of the Special Merit Award.

John McGlynn picked up the Managers and Coaches Association of Scotland Manager of the Year award.

The veteran gaffer was part of a three-man shortlist that also included Kilmarnock‘s Derek McInnes and Tony Docherty of Dundee.

But the one-time Hearts, Raith Rovers and Livingston boss took the trophy ahead of his Premiership rivals for steering Falkirk back into the Championship after a five-year wait.

A 2-2 draw with Alloa Athletic on the final day also ensured the team went through the entire league season undefeated.

Kilmarnock boss Derek McInnes scores HAT-TRICK past his own goalkeeper

There was a popular winner in the Championship player category with Brian Graham of Partick Thistle – who also manages their women’s team – coming out on top.

In League 1 the trophy when to Callumn Morrison following Falkirk‘s ‘Invincibles’ season.

While Gregor Buchanan of champions Stenhousemuir was chosen as the Player of the Year in League 2.

It’s shaping up to be a dramatic end to the season in the women’s game once again.

Rangers boss Jo Potter landed some early silverware as she claimed the SWPL1 Manager of the Year prize, with Mia McAulay bagging the SWPL1 Young Player trophy.

Keep up to date with ALL the latest news and transfers at the Scottish Sun football page

Continue Reading