Connect with us


Germany name Euro 2024 squad ahead of Scotland opener as big name stars miss out



With that in mind, German head coach, Julian Nagelsmann, has today named a 27-man provisional squad for the showpiece competition. 

Each nation is allowed to bring a 26-strong roster, so Nagelsmann will have to give one player some bad news before the final deadline of June 7. 

READ MORE: When Steve Clarke will name his Scotland Euro 2024 squad

His current selection includes four goalkeepers, and it involves a fine balance between experienced pros such as Manuel Neuer, Toni Kroos and Thomas Muller, and youth. 

Bayer Leverkusen sensation, Frorian Wirtz has been merited with another call-up. While there is a host of names making their Euros debut. 

Among the German stars absent from Nagelsmann’s latest team are Mats Hummels, Leon Goretzka, Julian Brandt, Timo Werner, Serge Gnabry and Niclas Sule. 

Here is the Germany squad in full:

Goalkeepers – Oliver Baumann, Manuel Neuer, Alexander Nubel, Marc-Andre ter Stegen

Defenders – Waldermar Anton, Benjamin Henrichs, Joshua Kimmich, Robin Koch, Maximilian Mittelstadt, David Raum, Antonio Rudiger, Nico Schlotterbeck, Jonathan Tah 

Midfielders – Robert Andrich, Chris Fuhrich, Pascal Gross, Iklay Gundogan, Toni Kroos, Jamal Musiala, Aleksandar Pavlovic, Leroy Sane, Florian Wirtz

Forwards – Maximilian Beier, Niclas Fullkrug, Kai Havertz, Thomas Muller, Denis Undav

Continue Reading