Connect with us


Key players return as Scotland name squad for T20 World Cup 2024



EDINBURGH: Cricket Scotland on Monday, announced a strong 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024, scheduled to take place in June in the West Indies and the United States of America (USA).

Top-order batter Michael Jones and fast bowler Brad Wheal returned to Scotland’s T20I squad for the upcoming mega event.

The duo were part of Scotland’s T20 World Cup 2022 squad which registered a famous 42-run victory over the West Indies.

However, both Jones and Wheal are not part of the Scotland side that will feature in a tri-nation series with the Netherlands and Ireland to boost their preparations for the T20 World Cup 2024, from May 18.

Middle-order batter Richie Berrington will continue to lead the European side.

Follow us on our Official WhatsApp channel

“To have Michael Jones and Brad Wheal available, their experience from previous T20 World Cups is crucial for the group,” head coach Doug Watson said.

“I’m looking forward to meeting them both, getting to know them and seeing their skills up close. The bulk of the squad have been together for a while now and did a fantastic job last summer at both the 50-over Qualifier and the T20 Qualifier.

“It’s nice to have a bit of continuity along the way, although they haven’t played a lot of cricket since. Hopefully we can see the same level from these players, if not higher, when we get to the Caribbean.

“I’m very excited about what lies ahead, and I think the players are too, the closer we get to it,” Watson said.

“We’re getting a few games in before then; we’re off to play Netherlands and Ireland next week, and that’ll be good just to get a bit of competitiveness under our belts. We’re done with training now, and we want to play competitive cricket.

“For us as a nation, it’s a real opportunity to shine on the global stage. If you look at the landscape of cricket now, with all the different franchise tournaments available for these guys to play in around the world, this is still the pinnacle. From a personal
and team perspective, it’s massive.”

Scotland are placed in Group B of the T20 World Cup 2024 with defending champions England, Australia, Oman and Namibia.

Scotland squad for ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024:

Richie Berrington (c), Matthew Cross, Brad Currie, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Jack Jarvis, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Charlie Tear, Mark Watt, Brad Wheal.

READ: Uganda announce squad for maiden T20 World Cup campaign

Continue Reading