Connect with us


One third of MPs in Scotland are currently councillors – see the full list



One third of MPs in Scotland are currently councillors – see the full list

The majority of MPs in Scotland are new, after the SNP faced a total wipe-out retaining just 9 seats.

A total of 18 of Scotland’s 57 MPs are currently councillors, equivalent to one third (32%) of MPs.

READ MORE: Scottish Government given no detail on Labour’s new ‘council of nations’

It is not a requirement for MPs to resign as councillors once they have been elected to parliament, but with local elections next taking place in 2027 it is unlikely that individuals will remain as both an MP and a councillor.

Should they resign as councillor, a by-election will need to take place to elect their replacement.

See the full list of MPs who are currently councillors below.

Aberdeenshire Council 

Seamus Logan (Aberdeenshire North and Moray East), SNP councillor for Fraserburgh and District 

East Ayrshire Council 

Lilian Jones (Kilmarnock and Loudoun), Scottish Labour councillor for Kilmarnock West and Crosshouse 

Elaine Stewart (Ayr, Carrick and Cumnock), Scottish Labour councillor for Doon Valley 

East Dunbartonshire Council 

Susan Murray (Mid Dunbartonshire), Scottish LibDem councillor for Kirkintilloch East and North and Twechar 

City of Edinburgh Council 

Scott Arthur (Edinburgh South West), Scottish Labour councillor for Colinton / Fairmilehead 

Falkirk Council 

Euan Stainbank (Falkirk), Scottish Labour councillor for Falkirk South 

Fife Council 

Graeme Downie (Dunfermline and Dollar), Scottish Labour councillor for West Fife and coastal villages 

City of Glasgow Council 

Maureen Burke (Glasgow North East), Scottish Labour councillor for North East 

Patricia Ferguson (Glasgow West), Scottish Labour councillor for Drumchapel / Anniesland 

Highland Council 

Angus MacDonald (Inverness, Skye and West Ross-shire), Scottish LibDem councillor for Fort William and Ardnamurchan  

Inverclyde Council 

Martin McCluskey (Inverclyde and Renfrewshire West), Scottish Labour councillor for Inverclyde West 

Moray Council 

Graham Leadbitter (Moray West, Nairn and Strathspey), SNP councillor for Elgin City South 

North Lanarkshire Council 

Frank McNally (Coatbridge and Bellshill), Scottish Labour councillor for Mossend and Holytown 

Kenneth Stevenson (Airdrie and Shotts), Scottish Labour councillor for Fortissat 

Perth and Kinross Council 

Brian Leishman (Alloa and Grangemouth), Scottish Labour councillor for Perth City North 

Stirling Council 

Chris Kane (Stirling and Strathallan), Scottish Labour councillor for Stirling East 

West Dunbartonshire Council 

Douglas McAllister (West Dunbartonshire), Scottish Labour councillor for Kilpatrick and Provost 

West Lothian Council 

Kirsteen Sullivan (Bathgate and Linlithgow), Scottish Labour and Co-operative councillor for Whitburn and Blackburn 

Continue Reading