Connect with us


Paul Mescal wins Best Actor at BAFTA Scotland Awards



Paul Mescal has been named Best Film Actor at the British Film and Television Academy (BAFTA) Scotland Awards for his performance opposite young star Frankie Corio in Charlotte Wells’ Aftersun.

The Maynooth actor was not at the ceremony in Glasgow on Sunday night to receive his award, which was accepted on his behalf by writer-director Wells.

Aftersun also won the awards for Best Director Fiction and Best Writer Film/Television for Wells.

Earlier this year, Mescal was Oscar-nominated for his performance in Aftersun, the story of a summer holiday that becomes a milestone in the lives of a father (Mescal) and daughter (Corio).

We need your consent to load this YouTube contentWe use YouTube to manage extra content that can set cookies on your device and collect data about your activity. Please review their details and accept them to load the content.Manage Preferences

The BAFTA Scotland winners in full:

Best Film Actor: Paul Mescal, Aftersun

Best Film Actress: Lucy Halliday, Blue Jean

Best Actor Television: Lewis Gribben, Somewhere Boy

Best Actress Television: Lauren Lyle, Karen Pirie

Audience Award: Lauren Lyle

Best Director Factual: Jono McLeod, My Old School

Best Director Fiction: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun

Best Entertainment: Frankie Boyle’s Farewell to the Monarchy

Best Factual Series: Three Mothers, Two Babies and a Scandal

Best Feature Film: Winners

Best Features: Designing the Hebrides

Best Short Film and Animation: A Long Winter

Best Single Documentary: The Mysterious Mr Lagerfeld

Best Specialist Factual: Imagine…Douglas Stuart: Love, Hope and Grit

Best Television Scripted: Mayflies

Best Writer Film/Television: Charlotte Wells, Aftersun

Lifetime Achievement Award: Shirley Henderson

Outstanding Contribution to Craft Award: Stuart Wilson

Click here for more movie news.

Click here for more television news.

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *