Connect with us


Sri Lanka outclass Scotland in the T20 World Cup Qualifier Final




Sri Lanka Women’s Cricket team was crowned as the champions after outclassing the Scottish women in the final of the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup Qualifiers 2024 played yesterday (7th of May) at Zayed Cricket Stadium in Abu Dhabi. 

Scottish skipper Sarah Bryce won the toss and elected to bowl first under the lights at Zayed Cricket Stadium. 

Batting first for the fourth consecutive time and the fifth time this tournament, the Sri Lankan women’s team didn’t get off to the best start. Vishmi Gunarathne their top scorer coming to this game was dismissed in the third over of the day.  

Sri Lankan skipper Chamari Athapaththu who was not having the best tournament for her standards stepped on the gas peddle at the all-important final. She scored a brilliant match-winning century off just 60 deliveries. The blistering innings comprised of thirteen fours and four huge sixes. It helped Sri Lanka to post 169 runs to the scoreboard. 

In reply, the Scottish women got in huge trouble by losing four wickets for just 23 runs inside the powerplay. The Scottish inning never got the momentum it needed, Ultimately they fell 68 runs short of the target. 

Medium pace bowler Udeshika Prabodhini was the Pick of the bowlers for Sri Lanka, she ended her four overs with 3 wickets to her name with just conceding only 13 runs. Also, the Lankan spin trio Kaveesha Dilhari, Sugandika Kumari, and Inoshi Priyadharshini picked one wicket each. 

Brief Scores : 

Sri Lanka ‘W’ – 165/5 (20) Chamari Athapaththu 102, Nilakshi Silva 26*, Rachel Slater 2/35 


Scotland ‘W’ – 101/7 (20) Priyanaz Chatterji 30, Rachel Slater 15*, Udeshika Prabodhini 3/13 

Continue Reading