Connect with us


Who won U19 Cricket World Cup? Which team triumphed in the 2024 edition? | Sporting News Australia



The final of the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup 2024, which took place at Willowmoore Park in Benoni, was played between India and Australia. 

The tournament began on January 19 with 16 teams fighting for the biggest accolade in U19 cricket. After 41 games and 24 days of non-stop action, we finally have a winner on our hands!

Bet here on India vs England Test series and other cricket matches!

The final was played between arguably the two best teams in the tournament, with India heading into the final by winning all their games in the group stage and the Super Six stage. Australia, too, were undefeated in all their games heading into the final. 

India came into this tournament as the defending champions, winning the 2022 edition. They made it to their fifth-consecutive U19 Cricket World Cup final after trumping South Africa in the semi-finals. 

Australia, meanwhile, made it to their first final since 2018, which they lost to India. They haven’t won the U19 Cricket World Cup since 2010, when Mitchell Marsh led the team to the title. 

MORE: Which Indian captains have won the U19 Cricket World Cup in the past?

Who won the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup 2024?

Australia won the 2024 edition of the U19 Cricket World Cup, beating defending champions India comfortably by 79 runs. It was an excellent showing from the Australian U19 team, who were the underdogs against India U19 ahead of the final. 

After winning the toss, Australia opted to bat first and posted 253 runs on the board at the end of their 50 overs. Harjas Singh was the top-scorer with 55 runs off 64 runs, with crucial contributions from Harry Dixon, captain Hugh Weibgen, and Oliver Peake. Raj Limbani was India’s most successful bowler, registering figures of 3-38 in his quota of 10 overs.

In reply, India lost opener Arshin Kulkarni in the third over to give their opponents the sort of start they would have hoped for. Musheer Khan, the find for India U19 in this tournament, seemed to be reviving the ship by stitching a good partnership with Adarsh Singh, but the former fell in the 13th over.

The floodgates then opened, as India could never really build a match-saving partnership. Mahli Beardman and Raf MacMillan kept chipping with wickets at regular intervals and orchestrated the Indian collapse with their skillful and economical bowling. The reigning champions were eventually bowled out for 174 runs.

MORE: Young fan spotted wearing Virat Kohli’s jersey at the U19 Cricket World Cup final

Who are the previous winners of the ICC Men’s U19 Cricket World Cup?

Winner Runners-Up Result Date Venue
West Indies India WI won by 5 wickets February 14, 2016 Dhaka
India Australia IND won by 8 wickets February 3, 2018 Mount Maunganui
Bangladesh India BAN won by 3 wickets February 9, 2020 Potchefstroom
India England IND won by 4 wickets February 5, 2022 Antigua and Barbuda
Australia India AUS won by 79 runs February 11, 2024 Benoni

MORE: To make your bet on ICC T20 World Cup 2024 you can click here for all the latest odds and special offers (selected territories).

Continue Reading
Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *