Connect with us


Brad Wheal, Michael Jones return as Scotland announce T20 World Cup squad | Cricket News – Times of India



NEW DELHI: Michael Jones and Brad Wheal have made a comeback to Scotland‘s 15-member squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup, marking their return to international cricketing action.
The duo, who represent Durham and Hampshire, respectively, were notably absent from Scotland’s roster for the T20 Tri-Series against Netherlands and Ireland earlier this month.
However, they have now been granted clearance by their respective counties to participate in the prestigious tournament set to unfold in the Americas next month.
The absence of seasoned Somerset pacer Josh Davey from the squad signifies the tough decisions faced by the selection panel in finalizing the roster for the T20 World Cup campaign.

However, “neither Davey nor his Somerset team-mate Andrew Umeed, who is uncapped at T20I level, were made available for World Cup selection,” ESPNcricinfo reported.
“It was a really difficult selection meeting, and it’s never easy getting it down to a squad of 15. It was ultimately about getting the balance of the squad just right, and we feel we’ve done that here,” Scotland head coach Doug Watson said.
“To have Michael Jones and Brad Wheal available, their experience from previous T20 World Cups is crucial for the group. I’m very excited about what lies ahead, and I think the players are too, the closer we get to it,” he added.
Led by Richie Berrington, the Scottish cricket team is poised to embark on their sixth-ever T20 World Cup campaign with a challenging opening fixture against defending champions England on June 4 in Barbados.
Placed in Group B, Scotland find themselves amidst formidable opponents, including Australia, Namibia, and Oman.
As they prepare to face off against cricketing giants in their quest for glory, Scotland’s journey in the T20 World Cup presents an opportunity to defy expectations, challenge the status quo, and etch their name in cricketing history with memorable performances on the field.
Scotland squad: Richie Berrington (c), Matthew Cross, Brad Currie, Chris Greaves, Oli Hairs, Jack Jarvis, Michael Jones, Michael Leask, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Charlie Tear, Mark Watt and Brad Wheal.
(With PTI inputs)

Continue Reading